Friday, May 12, 2023

Daleks! Genesis of Terror

The terrific trailer for Daleks! Genesis of Terror is out now.

The new CD and download release is something very special - though I suppose I would say that, as producer. It features Tom Baker and a full cast performing Terry Nation's original draft of the first episode of Genesis of the Daleks, once voted the best Doctor Who story of all time by readers of Doctor Who Magazine.

I've found it fascinating to work on and hope you'll enjoy it when it's out later this month.

Blurb as follows...

In a paved garden outside time, the Doctor is presented with an awful prophecy: the conquest of all time by the Daleks. To prevent this terrible fate, the Time Lords have decided on a radical course — to weaponise time themselves, and destroy the Daleks before they were ever created. And they want the Doctor to carry out this extraordinary task!

Soon, he and his companions Sarah and Harry are on the battle-ravaged planet Skaro, where a war has been raging for centuries. The war is now waged by teenagers using the last surviving weapons. Everything is desperate. But the Kaled’s chief scientist has a new weapon that he thinks might just change everything…

Disc 1:

Full cast version of Terry Nation's first draft of episode one of Genesis of the Daleks, with Nicholas Briggs providing the stage directions, plus readings by individual cast members of the storylines for the other episodes.

Disc 2:

BBC broadcaster and journalist Samira Ahmed interviews Philip Hinchcliffe.


  • Tom Baker (The Doctor)
  • Sadie Miller (Sarah Jane Smith)
  • Christopher Naylor (Harry Sullivan)
  • Peter Bankol√© (Time Lord / General Grainer)
  • Samuel Clemens (Nyder)
  • Alasdair Hankinson (Ravon / Kaled Leader)
  • Terry Molloy (Davros)
  • James Phoon (Kaled Boy / Operator)

  • Narrated by Nicholas Briggs
  • Featured Guests: Philip Hinchcliffe and Samira Ahmed
  • Senior Producer: John Ainsworth
  • Additional dialogue by Simon Guerrier
  • Theme arranged by David Darlington
  • Cover Art by Ryan Aplin
  • Director: Samuel Clemens
  • Executive Producers Jason Haigh-Ellery and Nicholas Briggs
  • Music by Nicholas Briggs
  • Producer: Simon Guerrier
  • Sound Design by Jaspreet Singh
  • Written by Terry Nation

No comments: